2009 jazz masters

In the spirit of the holidays, FR is taking a brief holiday from its usual beat to bring you something offbeat: the 2009 Jazz Masters named by the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA). The NEA Jazz Masters program is the nation's highest honor in jazz, a lifetime achievement award. The 2009 Jazz Masters are George Benson, Jimmy Cobb, Lee Konitz, Toots Thielemans, Snooky Young, and Rudy Van Gelder.

The 2009 publication profiles the 2009 Jazz Masters with brief biographies and selected discographies. The companion report does the same for Jazz Masters from 1982 to 2008. Both include a brief history of the program.

NEA Jazz Masters [2009] (pdf, 24pp/1.4MB), Oct. 2008

NEA Jazz Masters [1982-2008] (pdf, 119pp/2.7MB), Jan. 2008

Jazz Masters 1982-2009 (Listing, alphabetical/by year)



Post a Comment

<< Home